https://monthlyreviewarchives.org/index.php/mr/issue/feed Monthly Review 2021-10-01T03:50:01-04:00 Monthly Review Archives archives@monthlyreview.org Open Journal Systems <p>This site contains nearly all articles published in <em>Monthly Review</em> since its inception in May 1949. Current subscribers can access content free of charge. Learn more about <em>MR</em>&nbsp;<a title="Monthly Review" href="http://monthlyreview.org/about" target="_self">at the main website</a>.</p> https://monthlyreviewarchives.org/index.php/mr/article/view/6082 Herd impunity? 2021-10-01T03:50:01-04:00 Raymond Nat Turner raymondnatturner@mrsite.org <p>A new poem by <em>Black Agenda Report</em> poet-in-residence Raymond Nat Turner.</p> 2021-10-01T00:00:00-04:00 Copyright (c) 2021 https://monthlyreviewarchives.org/index.php/mr/article/view/6081 The legacy 2021-10-01T03:48:00-04:00 Marge Piercy margepiercy@mrsite.org <p>A new poem by Marge Piercy.</p> 2021-10-01T00:00:00-04:00 Copyright (c) 2021 https://monthlyreviewarchives.org/index.php/mr/article/view/6080 The Synthesizing Impulse: J. B. S. Haldane 2021-10-01T03:45:52-04:00 Helena Sheehan helenasheehan@mrsite.org <p>By any standards, John Burdon Sanderson Haldane (1892–1964) was a fascinating man. An eminent scientist, prolific writer and speaker, fiery political activist, and all-round colorful character, he has been the subject of several full-length biographies and multiple biographical sketches.</p> 2021-10-01T00:00:00-04:00 Copyright (c) 2021 https://monthlyreviewarchives.org/index.php/mr/article/view/6079 Vouchers for Murder 2021-10-01T03:43:41-04:00 Isador Nabi isadornabi@mrsite.org <p>In order to commit murder or mayhem under this program, vouchers must be submitted within one week prior to the actions contemplated or within a month afterward. Persons who commit violent acts without valid vouchers will be asked to enter into Voluntary Consent Agreements to desist from unauthorized murder or mayhem, and up to one tenth of any ill-gotten gains will be donated voluntarily to the charity of their choice, without any implication of admission of guilt.</p> 2021-10-01T00:00:00-04:00 Copyright (c) 2021 https://monthlyreviewarchives.org/index.php/mr/article/view/6078 The South African Pandemic of Racial Capitalism 2021-10-01T03:41:27-04:00 Madalitso Zililo Phiri madalitsozililophiri@mrsite.org <p>South Africa's COVID-19 pandemic is one of racial capitalism, entangled with histories of imperial state formation, settler colonialism, and a hierarchical, global-neoliberal public policy architecture.</p> 2021-10-01T00:00:00-04:00 Copyright (c) 2021 https://monthlyreviewarchives.org/index.php/mr/article/view/6077 COVID, Disablement, and the "Return to Normal" 2021-10-01T03:39:11-04:00 Keith Rosenthal keithrosenthal@mrsite.org Ari Parra ariparra@mrsite.org <p>For many disabled people, the "abnormal" state of things over the last year and a half is not such an estranged discontinuity from the previous state of things. Certainly, just like everyone, pandemic life for disabled people has been exceedingly difficult, painful, oppressive, and deadly. But the "normal" of pre-pandemic life was also exceedingly difficult, painful, oppressive, and deadly.</p> 2021-10-01T00:00:00-04:00 Copyright (c) 2021 https://monthlyreviewarchives.org/index.php/mr/article/view/6076 Bhima Koregaon and the "Powers of the Other Shore" 2021-10-01T03:35:17-04:00 Saroj Giri sarojgiri@mrsite.org <p>In India, today, we are witness to the quiet rise of the figure of Mahar Sidnak, iconized and lionized as a warrior of the oppressed from the early nineteenth century. This is electrifying the anticaste struggle and energizing the militant youth, a source of inspiration as historical as it is mythical. Are material issues, or "real struggle," really so opposed to the question of the "mythical past"?</p> 2021-10-01T00:00:00-04:00 Copyright (c) 2021 https://monthlyreviewarchives.org/index.php/mr/article/view/6075 The Long Haitian Revolution 2021-10-01T03:30:24-04:00 Pierre Labossiere pierrelabossiere@mrsite.org Margaret Prescod margaretprescod@mrsite.org Camila Valle camilavalle@mrsite.org <p>The current situation in Haiti has roots in the historical struggle of the Haitian people, and is part of the endless retribution from imperial powers for its revolution.</p> 2021-10-01T00:00:00-04:00 Copyright (c) 2021 https://monthlyreviewarchives.org/index.php/mr/article/view/6074 Notes from the Editors, October 2021 2021-10-01T03:11:21-04:00 - Editors monthlyrevieweditors@mrsite.org <div class="buynow"><a title="Back issue of Monthly Review Volume 73, Number 5 (October 2021)" href="https://monthlyreview.org/product/mr-073-05-2021-09/">buy this issue</a></div> <p>What was most significant about the published Part I of the report was that it revealed that even in the most optimistic projection of the Shared Socioeconomic Pathways—in which carbon emissions globally peak in the next four years, a 1.5°C increase in global average temperature over preindustrial levels would be avoided until 2040, and the goal of net zero carbon emissions would be reached by 2050—the consequences for global humanity would nonetheless be catastrophic by the measure of all historical precedents.</p> 2021-10-01T00:00:00-04:00 Copyright (c) 2021 https://monthlyreviewarchives.org/index.php/mr/article/view/6073 Building a Vision of the Good Life 2021-09-05T12:12:30-04:00 Jordan Fox Besek jordanfoxbesek@mrsite.org <p>The crux of Kate Soper's <em>Post-Growth Living</em> is simple: we need to redefine "the good life." We need to move away from a culture that equates the good life with endless consumption and toward one that equates it with experiences that are not defined by the market. Not only is this transition ecologically necessary, but it will also lead to fairer, and far more pleasurable, experiences.</p> 2021-09-05T00:00:00-04:00 Copyright (c) 2021